Eurachem Working Groups

Measurement Uncertainty and Traceability Working Group

This is a joint WG with CITAC.

Terms of Reference

  1. The EURACHEM/CITAC Measurement Uncertainty and Traceability Working Group has been established and will operate in accordance with the Constitution agreed in the EURACHEM Memorandum of Understanding.
  2. The EURACHEM/CITAC Measurement Uncertainty and Traceability Working Group will prepare guidance for the evaluation of uncertainties and establishment of traceability in chemical analysis. This guidance will be applicable to all chemical analytical laboratories and will provide guidance on the assessment of uncertainties and establishment of traceability required for accreditation.
  3. These guides will be developed in collaboration with EA and will be updated as experience is gained in their use.

Work Programme


Information leaflets

The working group has so far published six information leaflets:

In addition, the WG maintains the leaflet Measurement Uncertainty for Laboratory Customers, originally published by SP (now RISE) and elaborated with Eurolab and others to help customers understand why laboratories report measurement uncertainty.


The Measurement Uncertainty and Traceability working group has coordinated several International workshops on measurement uncertainty, including

  • Measurement uncertainty evaluation based on in-house validation data
    (Online, 2022)
  • Eurachem workshop on Uncertainty from sampling and analysis for accredited laboratories (Berlin, 2019)-
  • Eurachem Workshop: Quality in Analytical Measurements (Lisbon, 2014)
  • Evaluation of measurement uncertainty (Graz, 1994; Berlin, 1997, Lisbon, 2011)
  • Measurement Uncertainty in Sampling and Compliance (Berlin, 2008)



Organisation  Country Member
EURACHEM Armenia K Darbinyan
  Austria W Wegscheider
  Belgium P Thomas
  Bulgaria D Ivanova 
  Finland T Naykki
  Denmark A Svaneborg
  Estonia I Leito
  Germany R Becker
  Germany M Melzer
  Greece V Zonaras
  Ireland É Christie
  Italy F Rolle
  JRC (EC) P Robouch (Observer)
  Portugal R Bettencourt da Silva
  Portugal O Pellegrino
  Poland A Brzyski
  Slovenia M Inkret
  Spain P Morillas
  Sweden B Magnusson (Secretary)
  Sweden E Sahlin
  Switzerland M Rösslein
  The Netherlands A van der Veen
  The Netherlands R Kaarls (Observer)
  Türkiye P Yolci
  United Kingdom S Ellison (Chair)
  United Kingdom A Williams
  United Kingdom R Wood
  Ukraine O Levbarg
  Ukraine D Leontiev
CITAC Israel I Kuselman (Observer)
  Brazil Felipe Rebello Lourenço
  Italy F Pennecchi

*Last updated 2024-04-23


The working group may be contacted via the working group Secretary using the Website contact form.